St. Paul Lutheran Church has a rich history in the community. The Church was founded on October 17, 1907 when a group of Lutherans met at the home of Mr. John Jaegler to organize a Lutheran congregation in Nanuet, NY.
Mr. Jaegler offered his home as a place of worship and the first service was announced on November 10, 1907. Later, it was discovered that the vacant church edifice in Nanuet known as the Seceder Church (The True Dutch Reformed Church of Clarkstown) could be rented for the modest amount of one dollar a Sunday. In the following year, the Seceder Church building, property and cemetery, about 1.5 acres, was purchased for the sum of $1,800. In December 1908, the congregation was incorporated under the Laws of New York State as the Evangelical Lutheran St. Paul’s Congregation.
On July 8, 1954, the church was badly damaged by fire and later determined to rebuild. After a few studies were conducted, the Synod and Board of Missions advised relocation. On September 30, 1956 a new house of worship was celebrated located at 323 South Main Street, New City, NY.